You are here

2011 The Technical Cooperation Program (TTCP) Award recipients

21 April 2011
DSTO logo
20 DSTO researchers receive 2011 TTCP awards

Twenty past and present Defence Science and Technology (DSTO) staff members were recognised for their international collaboration in 2011.

See below for DSTO recipients within each category.

Aerospace systems applications

Awarded for demonstrating the utility of integration technologies and processes to increase situational awareness throughout the chain of command and to reduce the potential for fratricide, collateral damage and civilian casualties:

  • Dr David Cox
  • Dr Niem Tri
  • LTCOL Bede T. Galvin
  • Ian Lloyd

Awarded for significant contribution to the development of a new and complementary real time databus protocol aimed at significantly reducing aircraft avionics modernisation costs while providing a two order magnitude increase to on-board data transmission capacity:

  • Dr Noel Martin
  • Mr Mark Davies
  • Mr Grant Philp
  • Dr Robert O'Dowd

Joint systems and analysis

Awarded for contributions to The Technical Cooperation Program (TTCP) collaboration in developing a TTCP Modeling and Simulation (M&S) Standards Guideline:

  • Dr Peter Ryan
  • Dr Maxwell Britton

Maritime systems

Awarded for excellence in the development and use of analytical tools and models for the evaluation and improvement of Maritime Force Protection, Maritime Security and Counter-Piracy Operations conducted by TTCP naval forces against a range of asymmetric threats:

  • Dr Bernard Kachoyan
  • Mr Marc West
  • Mr Piers Duncan
  • Mr Paul Chircop
  • Mr Tristan Cooper

Multi-sensor integration

Awarded for significant contributions in the investigation of multi-sensor tracking for improved Force Protection and Border Security Operations:

  • Dr Neil Gordon
  • Mr Travis Bessell

Signal and image processing

Awarded for a significant contribution to the development, advancement and demonstration of technology for autonomous wide-swath/fine resolution maritime surveillance incorporating Inverse Synthetic Aperture Radar (ISAR) image formation, with dissemination and exploitation of the radar/Automatic Identification System (AIS) information to users off-board the aircraft:

  • Dr Brett Haywood

Acoustic sniper detection and localisation

Awarded for the joint collaboration in the advancement of gunfire detection capability for coalition forces:

  • Dr Brian Ferguson
  • Dr Kam Lo