You are here

Our leadership


This page is currently being updated, following DSTG's new organisational structure effective from 1 July 2022.

DST is part of the Department of Defence.

Chief Defence Scientist

The Chief Defence Scientist is the head of DST and is the executive accountable to the Minister for Defence through the Secretary of the Department of Defence for delivering the science and technology (S&T) program of the Defence portfolio. In delivering this program, the Chief Defence Scientist is responsive to the priorities of the Chief of the Defence Force, Service Chiefs and other Group Heads within the Department.

DST Leadership Team

The DST Leadership Team (DLT) is the primary executive management body in DST.

The role of the DLT is to determine matters and to make recommendations to the Chief Defence Scientist regarding the direction and operations of DST. The DLT, individually and as a team, support the Chief Defence Scientist to lead, direct, coordinate and control the operations and performance of DST Group.

The DLT comprises the Chief Defence Scientist, three Chiefs of Corporate Divisions, and the seven Chiefs of Research Divisions. DLT is chaired by the Chief Defence Scientist. The Chiefs report directly to the Chief Defence Scientist.

Members of the DST leadership team

Professor Tanya Monro

Chief Defence Scientist

Dr Katerina Agostino

Chief Human & Decision Sciences

Dr Dale Lambert

Chief Information Sciences

Mr Andrew Seedhouse

Chief Cyber, Intelligence & National Security

Dr Peter Shoubridge

Chief Land & Joint Warfare

Professor Emily Hilder

Chief Platforms

Mr Mark Bazzacco

Chief Operations Enablement

Dr David Kershaw

Chief Science Strategic Planning & Engagement

Dr Shane Canney

Chief Air & Space

Mr Ivan Zlabur

Chief Engineering Advisor

Dr Anthony Szabo

Chief Maritime (Acting)

Dr Sylvie Perreau

Chief Sensors & Effectors (Acting)

Mr Richard Bartholomeusz

Chief Technology Officer Innovation and Strategic Research

Professor Michelle Gee

Chief Technology Officer Innovation and Strategic Research

Dr Nigel McGinty

Chief Technology Officer Strategy and National Security

Key information

  • Chief Defence Scientist
  • DST Leadership Team
  • Corporate Divisions
  • Research Divisions