You are here

Professor Tanya Monro AC

Professor Tanya Monro AC commenced as Australia's Chief Defence Scientist in March 2019.

As Chief Defence Scientist, Tanya is head of Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG) and Capability Manager for Innovation, Science and Technology within the Australian Department of Defence.

In June 2022, Professor Monro was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in for eminent service to scientific and technological development, to research and innovation, to tertiary education, particularly in the field of photonics, and to professional organisations.

Professor Monro's previous roles include Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation and ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia; inaugural Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) from 2008 to 2014; and inaugural Director for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale Bio Photonics (CNBP) at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Monro is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America (OSA), the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP), and an International Member of the United States National Academy of Engineering.