Eureka Prize sponsorship

Australian Musuem Eureka Prize logo

DST Group sponsors the Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia.

The prize is awarded to an Australian individual, group or organisation for outstanding science or technology that has developed or has the potential to develop innovative solutions for Australia's defence or national security.

The Eureka Prizes are presented annually by the Australian Museum to recognise excellence in the fields of:

  • research and innovation
  • leadership and commercialisation
  • school science
  • science communication & journalism

The aim of the DST Eureka Prize is to enhance the reputation of Australian scientists who play a role in supporting the nation's defence and national security efforts; reward defence science and technology (S&T) excellence; foster innovation in defence science and raise the profile of defence S&T, especially among university students seeking a science career.

Previous winners

2019: Team GreyScan, University of Tasmania and Grey Innovation

2018: The Sapphire Clock Team

2017: Associate Professor Richard Mildren, Macquarie University

2016: Thales Australia

2015: Northrop Grumman M5 Network Security

2014: One Atmosphere

2013: DMTC Armour Applications Program team

2012: Adjunct Professor Yonggang Zhu, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering

2011: Professor Abdesselam Bouzerdoum, University of Wollongong

2010: Dr Ba-Ngu Vo, Dr Ba-Tuong Vo and Dr Antonio Cantoni, University of Western Australia

2009: Air Cargo Scanner Team, CSIRO

2008: Microelectronics Research Group, University of Western Australia