Read our latest news and media releases to keep track of what's happening at DST.

For more recent stories relating to defence science, see our Defence Science Australia podcast series and our DST App.


DST Group logo
7 November 2015
DST Group's value statement has been endorsed and accepted by the First Principles Review Implementation Committee.
L-R: Chief Defence Scientist Dr Alex Zelinsky, Professor Arun Sharma (QUT Deputy Vice-Chancellor), Michael Wycisk (Siemens AG) and Jeff Connolly (Siemens Australia CEO)
8 October 2015
DST Group has joined with Siemens and QUT in a research agreement to advance the use of high temperature superconducting technologies in Australia.
Chief Defence Scientist Dr Alex Zelinsky, speaking at the Pacific 2015 maritime expo.
Media Release
7 October 2015
DST Group is showcasing a range of innovative technologies at the Sea Power Conference and Pacific 2015 maritime expo in Sydney.
Researcher monitoring driving trial
Media Release
1 October 2015
Defence researchers have discovered that caffeine only marginally reduces driver drowsiness, but significantly reduces driving errors.
Victoria Pit and Robert Peile received the award on behalf of DST Group.
15 September 2015
Defence Science and Technology Group (DST Group) was presented with the Best Creative Engagement Strategy Award last week from Knowledge Commercialisation Australasia.
Dr Alex Zelinsky, Minister for Defence and Mr Adam Fairbairn from Amor Composite Pty Ltd.
15 September 2015
Government will contribute $14.2 million towards the development and demonstration of innovative technologies that can enhance defence capability.
Song Cycle of the Seven Sisters, painted by Indigenous artist Anthony Walker.
31 August 2015

Defence today unveiled an Indigenous painting as a mark of respect for cultural diversity within the organisation.

Chief Defence Scientist, Dr Alex Zelinsky (right) with Mr Peter Hitchiner, past president of the Information, Telecommunications, and Electronics Engineering (ITEE) College
29 August 2015
Chief Defence Scientist, Dr Alex Zelinsky, has received the prestigious 2015 M A Sargent Medal from Engineers Australia.
Chief Defence Scientist Alex Zelinsky (left) presented the award to the Northrop Grumman team (L-R): Ian Irving, CEO Northrop Grumman Australia, Winter McCall and Shane Cooper.
26 August 2015
A mobile communications system that connects securely to classified networks has won the 2015 Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia.
The Digital Video Guard
21 August 2015
Scientists from the DST Group recently showcased a unique computer security device that provides protection against cyber intrusion.